.     If you like the podcast, or hate it in a novel and entertaining manner, we’d love to know your thoughts.

.     One easy way of telling us is to go to iTunes and leave a review.

.     Here’s what other listeners have already said:

REVIEWS

FLAG COUNTRY

DATE

RATING

AUTHOR

TITLE

REVIEW

United States2018-10-185wmacgyverThank you, thank you, thank you!I used to play Call of Cthulhu long time ago back when “Cthulhu Now” wasn’t a historical setting. The group stopped because well, we got tired of all the character deaths. As the special episode on "Pulp vs Pure" pointed out it you can only die so many times before you stop caring. Two years ago at Origins Pelgrane Press booth, Kenneth Hite pitched “Trail of Cthulhu” as the solution. So last year we started playing it. While doing research to prepare for the game, I discovered the podcast. The first time I put it on, my wife (who’s one of the players) fell asleep a few minutes in. I asked her if she thought the podcast was boring. She said "No, it’s quite interesting. Please put it on again, I’d like to listen to it". We quickly started going through the backlog of episodes, though the pattern continues. At night time if I put it on, she will fall asleep with in minutes as if I just put on a lullaby. She claims it’s the British voices 🙂 We love the theme song, though we couldn’t figure why you picked it. The theme song choice was so memorable the podcast has come to be known as “Japanese Sandman” podcast. At the beginning of the year, my wife started experimental cancer treatment. The treatment is designed to spike your immune system. This means you have high fever, are restless, and have insomnia. The side effects are something you have no choice but to cope. We tried a bunch of things, but nothing worked. Until it suddenly occurred to me, “Hey, you want to try listening to the Japanese Sandman podcast?” She felt it was worth a try. It wasn’t even 10 minutes and she was sound asleep. Words can’t describe how thankful I was that your podcast exist at that very moment. From that point on, your podcast became part of the treatment journey. Fortunately you've produced many episodes, even so there are many episodes we've listened to many times. We always look forward to new episodes. Some of our favorite episodes are #50 "How Cthulhu took over the world", the episodes (#63/#64) on "Lamentations of Flame Princes" #76 "Many faces of Cthulhu" #80 "Pulp Cthulhu" #83 "Appeals of RPGs" the episodes (#103/#104) "Appeal of investigative games" (#105/#108) on World of Darkness (Vampire the Masquerade is another game we play quite a bit over the years) (#109/#110) on THE "Call of Cthulhu" the special episode on "Pulp vs Pure" #121 "System Matters" Some of the episodes have sent us looking for TV series and movies you recommended. However, our all time favorite is the #128 Cat episode. She loves cats. When the episode was released, that afternoon she asked if I can put on the “Japanese Sandman” podcast. I said “You are in for a treat. There is a new episode, which I’m confident will be your all time favorite from this point forward.” After the episode ended, she said “can we listen to it again?”. She even enjoyed the singing/cat meowing you guys did in that episode. And yes, she was awake throughout the entire episode. She passed away 4 month ago, but I wanted to thank all of you for creating the podcast. It helped her through the treatment process. The 3 of you are truly “Good Friends”.
United Kingdom2018-08-255Jonas WolfeInspirational and thoroughly enjoyableI've been listening to the Good Friends podcast for over six months now and am constantly amazed at how diverse and inspirational the topics of discussion are. Having been a role-player and horror geek since I was at school (some 40 plus years ago now) I love the mix of discussion, humour, critique and ideas that come to the fore when the fellows get together. Whether you like role-playing games and are looking for inspirational, like the works of H.P. Lovecraft or, indeed, other horror writers, love horror film or TV or just enjoy podcasts in general, there is much to admire in the Good Friends. And, let's be honest, where else can you back a podcast on Patreon and have a special song composed just for you? Listening to mine this morning while out walking the dog made me burst into hysterical laughter. Keep up the great work. Roll on episode 200!
United Kingdom2018-08-125MorthraiStill keeping it squamousBeen a fan right from the start. Pretty much the go-to UK Lovecraftian podcast these days (sorry YSDC - still love you too of course!) and here's wishing them many more episodes.
United States2018-07-295Skoll_IXRide the night wind with these good friends!Amazing and entertaining podcast for the lore of HP Lovecraft. These fellows discuss a wide range of topics that dares the darkest corners. My favorite episodes are the discussions of the Lovecraftian deities where you are taken for a tour of encyclopedic proportions through relevant works, speculative theories, how to use said deity in your Call of Cthulhu game and also how they (who are seasoned and experienced players and writers for the game) have used the entity in their games. There is just too much good here to list! Please give it a listen!
United Kingdom2018-07-025Gnome MonkNew adventures on and off the gaming tableThe GFJE have a lot to answer for. I started listening to improve my Keeping but it’s gone far beyond that now. Thanks to them I’ve discovered the works of Thomas Ligotti, the HP Podcast and the London Fortean Society. Cheers guys!
Canada2018-06-275Cinna the PoetA great resourceThis is a detailed, thoughtful and passionate podcast. The three hosts have a comprehensive discussion on a particular topic in Call if Cthulhu. They cover the salient points as well as explore compelling alternatives on the subject of the episode. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to run Call of Cthulhu and wants a deep dive into the lore of the game, tips on being a keeper and insights into the community surrounding it. Thanks for all of your hard work guys!
United Kingdom2018-06-195Jules_Alex_LThorough Addictive MaterialA good test of a podcast is, in my view, that- after getting used to the voices of the hosts- would you like to sit in a pub with these guys for an evening's banter. In the case of the good friends of Jackson Elias- that's a most definite yes. These guys are erudite, funny and generally great company on my drives too and from work; on the subject of which- one very important factor, its well recorded and produced- meaning that car engine rumble doesn't disrupt things (very important for my listening habits). A hugely enjoyable back catalogue of incisive and entertaining discussion for anyone interested in Cthulhu or horror… highly recommended.
Belgium2018-05-155Wouter V.Enjoyable for GMs, players and the casually intrestedVery good podcast by three very knowledgeable hosts in their fields (ex. horror, roleplaying games, writing scenario's,...). Good for tips on running games and general horror trivia about books, movies and the history of call of chuthlu. As an extra bonus they keep up with all chtulu related kickstarters for you, especially the plushy ones are nice.
United Kingdom2018-04-185Uncle RiotousBest Horror Gaming Podcast Out ThereThis podcast is a rare thing indeed. Knowledgable hosts who bring different perspectives and a love for their topic without being preachy. One of the few podcasts that I listen to every episode while also working through the considerable backlog.
United States2018-04-125Screaming randomI'm hookedGreat podcast! The range of knowledge goes way beyond gaming keeping everything interesting and fun.
United States2018-04-045anthologosGentlemen gamers (and tipplers) UpdatedUpdated April 2018 Am still an avid listener and Patreon backer after several years, and still find myself listening to their old episodes with great joy and intellectual pleasure. Scott, Paul, and Matt share a darkly-infectious enthusiasm for their hobby and this podcast has honestly been one of my greatest game-related pleasures over the past few years. My only regret is that I am unable to share a game and a story or two with them in person, but the airwaves (so to speak) are a fair substitute, as are their writings, which are as clever as their on-air personalities. If you have not listened yet, and have any interest in Call of Cthulhu, role-playing games more generally, horror and dark narratives of any sort, or just good humour and friendship, you should try the Good Friends podcast post-haste, and sample their various writings as well. You will never be disappointed. ******** The Good Friends are very clever gamers and writers of grand wit and humour. Neither autistic savants droningly correcting the harmless solecisms of fellow players 'round the table, nor shrill poltergeists hurling ghastly pebbles of polemic, they are gentlemen who balance erudition and enthusiasm, and their long-forged camaraderie is genuine and warm. Their friendship makes for repartee that is very easy to listen to. Even if you are not a Cthulhu gamer, you will love listening over these good friends’ shoulders. Scott Dorward, who of the three perhaps maintains the most active online presence, deserves special kudos for being the rare gamer whose forum persona is helpful, intelligent, and keen, rather than insufferable. Check him out on their own forum, blasphemoustomes.com or on reddit gaming fora. TL:DR…love the podcast, listen multiple times. Great, great stuff!
Finland2018-02-205Mikko AiraksinenA note stuck under a stoneI pressed play and for a few fleeting seconds there was but silence. I thought the device broken, but soon a strange melancholy music filled my ears and with it came the sudden realisation: I was once again in the company of The Good Friends of Jackson Elias. Created by messrs Dorward, Fricker, and Sanderson the podcast covers a variety of topics from readings of different works of fiction to creating and playing roleplaying games, that most sanity blasting of pastimes. The podcast derives great strength from their extensive experience on this field, each having their own unique take on the subject. Listening to their podcast has opened my eyes to new, unimaginable insights on our shared obsession. In a good way.
United States2018-01-215daupo in NYCthree very weird friendsTGFoJE is my favorite podcast. Scott, Paul, and Matt have introduced me to great cultural objects and re-enthused my gaming life with their thoughtful conversations. The show is well-structured, while never feeling scripted or false. It just feels like I am hanging out with three good friends, good, *very strange* friends, each of whom has an individual personality that one gets to know over the course of the podcast's development. And they talk about the films, games, and other weird horrors that interest them. Top notch!
United Kingdom2017-12-125King HateDark PilgrimsThank you gentlemen for all your hard work crafting an informative and inspiring resource for keepers and players. I’m late to the party but happy to be here. Keep at it! K1ngHate
United Kingdom2017-12-085Gareth (Torchlight Candles)Cthulhu fhtagn!I was introduced to this podcast at Dragonmeet 2017 and ever since then I have been listening to it whenever I can! The show has a very light hearted and friendly atmosphere, just like being with a group of friends. I have been listening to it at work and must seem crazy to everyone around me becuase every now and again I just laugh at some witty joke. I am working my way through the podcasts and episode 103/104 on what makes a good investigative game (your right it is hard to say sometimes) has really given me some great ideas for my first go DMing a call of Cthulhu game! Keep up the good work!
United Kingdom2017-12-075SpandaubilletTread SoftlyInsanely funny but mostly insane
United Kingdom2017-12-075jobludEsoterica at its bestWhile there are several good Call of Cthulhu podcasts out there in the hoary wine cellar of gaming media, this one is always a treat, that vintage bottle you stash away for a quiet moment. Highly recommended.
United States2017-11-305TuGunMojoTop notch podcast, I highly recommend themThe Good Friends put one one of the best podcasts about Horror gaming, with a huge focus on Cthulhu RPGs. They discuss other games as well and other subjects from time to time (Horror movies for example), tho I’m partial to the Lovecraftian aspects myself. Regardless of the subject matter, this trio put thought into what they are saying and always keep me entertained. Check them out! Jamey
United States2017-10-015SuperGrouchFaceAlways great, thoughtful and interesting!I love how thoughtful these guys are in the way they consider various horror fiction, cinema and role playing. I have been put on to several interesting films, books and television programs due to Paul, Matt and Scott. As a Call of Cthulhu and Delta Green player/gm, this podcast is really invaluable. It gets you into your "ideal state" for considering good storytelling and compelling atmosphere/mood. As a fan of the horror genre in various media, Paul, Matt and Scott are remarkably varied yet interesting in their tastes, approaches and attitudes. This is really nice and always gives me someone to identify with. Finally, this podcast has made me a better roleplayer, storyteller and purveyor of all things horror. It is a great thing to listen to and I look forward to donating on their Patreon (they do a song for people who donate, and it reminds me of my art school days.)
United States2017-08-175Sam Stampsalways waiting for the next episodeThese guys are great. Very entertaining and give a great spin on all subjects that are Lovecraftian.
United States2017-07-285cthulhu-fhtagnGood friends indeedThe Good Friends present a fun take on horror gaming, movies, and literature and apply whatever they discuss to gaming in the Cthulhu Mythos. The audio quality improves quite a bit in more recent episodes - perhaps because they no longer record in a potting shed - but even when the audio isn't the best, the content is always excellent. There are gaming podcasts out there that are more famous, but there are none better than the Good Friends of JE.
United Kingdom2017-06-185TrvShaneAlways useful and entertaining.Having come to the Good Friends of Jackson Elias podcast about a year ago I have consistently enjoyed it (it is one of only four podcasts I regularly listen). The hosts, as old friends, have great chemistry. They speak to mic comfortably, and are quick to acknowledge listener input and comments on social media. The show covers horror games and horror films, with a clear emphasis on Call of Cthulhu and Lovecraftian fiction. The topics each week range from a study of a story and using it in gaming, to a breakdown of a film, to gaming tips and techniques. Even if you aren’t a horror gamer or Call of Cthulhu gamer you can find a lot of useful content to bring to any game (or work of fiction if you are an author). If you are a Call of Cthulhu keeper there is more here than you will ever be able to use. This show remains one of my favourite games and I am happy to support them on Patreon. I cannot recommend the podcast enough.
United Kingdom2017-05-165ZackspacksBlue Oyster Cultists? Or something similar...In ancient times, hundreds of years before the dawn of history, lived a strange group of people: The Good Friends. No one knows who they were or what they were doing, but their legacy remains hewn into the non-Euclidean geometry of iTunes. “Good Friends! Where the Dorwoods dwell Where the Frickers live and they do live well Good Friends! Where they scrub down old Abhoth And the Sandersons dance to the Pipes of Azathoth”
Austria2017-05-115joerg73Cthulhu is pleasedThis podcast is a must for every fan of horror movies, horror games and especially Call of Cthulhu roleplaying games. Each episode is full of interesting topics with examples and helpful ideas for your games, as the hosts are veterans of the genre and authors of many publications on those topics. And if you are a very good friend of The Good Friends of Jackson Elias your name will become part of legendary singing or at least sound-making on the part of the hosts.
United Kingdom2017-04-285A new friend of Jackson EliasTop notchWhen I first started listening to the podcast I was a big lovecraft fan but had never played a pen and paper rpg in my life. Skip forward a year and I've convinced my mates to have a weekly game and am knee deep into running Masks (4 character deaths so far, we're all new to this so I'm pulling my punches a little!). The hosts knowledge and enthusiasm are top notch, essential listening for any keeper, player or even just horror fan. It's always a good day when a new episode drops, couldn't recommend it more.
United States2017-02-275BhdhjwjeeiOutstanding ShowTruely insightful show, full of great discussions, cthuloid updates, and entertaining content. One of the best RPG podcasts out there.
United Kingdom2016-12-245cloudb64Sanity saving sage adviceAs someone returning to role playing after too many years away to admit to, I have found this podcast a mine of useful advice. Though primarily focused on Call of Cthulhu, there is much that would help a games-master of any system. Not only that, the guys manage to share their knowledge in a highly listenable and entertaining manner. The only thing that bugs me is, just what is that haunting theme song? Top marks, keep up the good work, it is appreciated.
United States2016-12-164darklamentAwesome overallEXCEPT for one important episode - #23, the one about combat. You all spend over half the podcast talking about how much you don’t like combat in CoC & then you kinda talk about how the new combat system works. It would be good if we actually would get an in-depth play through of how combat work, because a lot of use DO enjoy the occasional dust-up :). Other then that I LOVE this podcast! Love to hear for creators.
United Kingdom2016-09-07537DavenportA brilliant podcastA Tremendous podcast. The hosts are all veterans of the Roleplaying game call of cthulhu, writing large amounts for the game and other horror games. All of them know what they're talking about when it Comes to roleplaying. They have a tone of semi-casual Tone that really Fits the show. In the show they discuss everything from horror films to the development of roleplaying Scenarios. Hearty recommendations to all people whom like not just horror, but roleplaying in general.
United States2016-06-205Cpt-SafetyExcellent!One of the best podcasts out there! It doesn't hurt that you guys talk about one of my favorite RPGs of all time. Love the sort of "inside looks" and insights of the writers. Thank you!
Australia2016-06-105Jonty69Call of Cthulhu at its bestThe Good Friends is one of the best tabletop gaming podcasts that I have discovered, of any genre, and really support my love of horror, and especially Cthulhu, gaming. I have learnt about several new fun to play systems by listening to these chaps as well. Their love and knowledge of Call of Cthulhu and Lovecrafian works is exemplary (helped by the fact the two of them are involved in 7th ed CofC). This is one of a few podcasts that I look forward to listening to each and every week, and I recommend this podcast to tabletop gamers and fans of suspense horror alike.
United Kingdom2016-03-195MartinOrwellBeautifully put together LovecraftianniaA horror/gaming/Lovecraft podcast delivered lightly by some true heavy weights in the Lovecraft world. All three hosts are high level Call of Cthulhu/Lovecraft horror game developers and GMs, and each episode is well reserached and entertainingly delivered. If you've ever played Call of Cthulhu, read Lovecraft, love horror films, or are simply into horror in any form, this podcast is well worth a listen 😀
United Kingdom2016-03-155Dirk the DiceThanks for the fishI’m currently on my second loop of listening to these wonderfully rich and absorbing podcasts, so much so, that my internal monologue has adopted the humms, harrs and guttural grunts of the hosts. The established format works really well, with it’s combination of Lovecraft studies, light-hearted banter and wide appreciation of the horror genre. My personal favourite is the episodes featuring the Lamentations of the Flame Princess, which is contextualised in the history of the hobby perfectly. I’ve also enjoyed their occasional demonstration of the 7th Edition Call of Cthulhu rules. Entertaining. Informative. What more do you need, other than 5000 kippers?
United Kingdom2016-02-045rcaugustQuite possibly my favourite podcast...The best podcasts make you feel as though you're sat at the same table as the hosts, not able to contribute to the conversation perhaps, but nodding along and laughing at the jokes. In practice, this of course can make you look insane on the bus, but the feeling of being involved is one I look for in those podcasts which make my vaunted 'favourites list'. The Good Friends of Jackson Elias manage this in every episode, being often funny, imaginative and, despite an impressive list of professional credits, never make claim to authority or insist on 'laying down the law'. Its basically like listening to a pub chat, in the best way possible. Lovely stuff.
United Kingdom2015-11-275MawdrigenExcellent cthulhoid musingsAn excellent podcast examining the vigintillion myriad eldritch things connected with and connected to the Cthulhu mythos. I love the mythos word of the week, and their deeper looks into stories of the mythos. Excellent for when thinking of ideas to set on your players!
United Kingdom2015-10-225CplwilksA Great Podcast!I'd love to insert some witty review here full of puns but I'm not that linguistic - I'm just gonna say if you're a fan of Lovecraft, Horror Gaming or films this is a great podcast. The banter between the three hosts is fantastic and I eagerly anticipate every episode. I've yet to hear a 'boring' episode and have been pointed to numerous new things be it games or movies. My only complaint would be fish - the show could do with more fish
United States2015-09-035Triceratops BobThe Good Friends of Jackson EliasExcellent. If you are a fan of horror RPGs, this is a good choice. If you're a Call of Cthulhu RPG fan, this is virtually a must. The hosts are knowledgeable and have a wonderful give-and-take in their in-depth discussions. I thought I couldn't handle yet another podcast, but after one episode, I made room in my podcast rotation. Check this one out!
Australia2015-08-314Danial79Fun podcast... but not for the whole familyI discovered The Good Friends of Jackson Elias through their YouTube channel while searching for Call of Cthulhu (RPG) information. Their episodes on that were quite good, however, they were also quite hard to find as the episode titles are pretty vague, as are the descriptions. You have to click the link to their website to really figure out what most episodes are about, which is pretty annoying. For the most part, the episodes are humorous and light-hearted, and I would love to listen with my kids if it wasn't for the occasional gratuitous expletive. All in all, a great podcast that I would highly recommend if you're a fan of Call of Cthulhu or Lovecraft.
Canada2015-08-285jprangerGreat Podcast! Thanks for your hard work!This is a great podcast about Call of Cthulhu RPG. The three hosts are writers for Chaosium and for other games, so they really know what they are talking about. Since they were all involved with developing the 7th edition rules, it is interesting to hear some of the reasoning for the changes. Keep up the good work, gentlemen!
United Kingdom2015-08-145Keeper AntDefinitely squamous, pototentially rugoseWith great age comes great wisdom they say. Who say? People of great age usually. In the case of this podcast I would say age and wisdom walk hand in hand. From the dawn of the Days of Cthulhu and down through countless aeons to the here and now, arcane knowledge is dispensed and discussed. Knowledge of the Mythos, as well as more common horrors, is the meat and drink that our disturbingly cheery narators feast upon. If esoteric gaming, film and televisual awakening is your goal, then chant the spell to open the portal. If you fear the Nameless starry wisdom and the awful realisation it brings then seek elsewhere ... Also contains lots of humour, some swearing and occasional barbershop .. you have been warned.
United States2015-05-265eddypo68Horrifying and educational.To be honest, I didn't care for this podcast when it first launched. It wasn't terrible, but I think it lacked enough polish to keep me engaged and stay on my feed. THAT, I'm pleased to report, has all changed. I gave it another try and I'm glad I did. This show and its hosts both educate and horrify me. I'm hooked like Attract Fish gone wrong!
United Kingdom2015-05-265Mase EscasiSAN-bustingly GoodIn their shed at Milton Keynes, three dreamers lay recording… Deformed, unattractive albino men – snog, marry, or avoid, you choose – these old dears are given to wandering amid the new town’s cosmic roundabouts, trying to read the great odorous books which they have inherited through four decades of roleplaying. Gorgons, hydras and chimeras, dire stories of the concrete cow; they are transcripts, types. The archetypes are in us, and eternal. No cream for me, thanks.
United States2015-05-255Keeper Chad#AttractGoodPodcastsThis is one of the best gaming podcasts available. The hosts are knowledgeable and entertaining, represent a range of views and tastes, and together they generate excellent ideas. If you play horror RPGs, you’ll get a lot out of these episodes. All three hosts are experienced writers and editors for Call of Cthulhu and other games, so coverage of the topic is informed and valuable.
United States2015-05-255fox01313Horror genre podcasting gemI originally started listening to this podcast with the Call of Cthulhu rpg & happy ever since first turning it on. Great discussions from the hosts & guests on horror in games as well as movies & fiction. Highly recommended!
United Kingdom2014-10-015Burb1456Awesome podcastWell done for this podcast and an awesome crew. Have read a lot of Matts stuff and he is really re-invigorating roleplaying across many genres. Keep up the fine work I and many others will be listening.
United States2014-09-065caddy1071Always delightful to hear TGFoJEExcellent podcast with great discussion of horror gaming and inspiration with incredibly knowledgeable and entertaining hosts. They have a great chemistry that always brings a smile to your face whether talking about cosmic insanities or ritualistic murder enabling the return of the Old Ones. These gentlemen put on a great show.
United Kingdom2014-07-195dragonsleeveThe Good Friends of Jackson EliasI can't believe this show has no reviews. A cracking, informative and leisurely show, with a nice group of friends, devoted to Lovecraft and gaming. Ace stuff!
United States2014-04-185WellMustachioedOccasional podcast, always great!Paul, Matt and Scott have lively conversations mostly about Call of Cthulhu. Or Hot War. Or horror movies. Or Attract Fish.